EGMHA 2023-24 AGM Recap, News (EGMHA)

News Article
News Article Image
Jun 18, 2024 | Webmaster | 279 views
EGMHA 2023-24 AGM Recap
Our rescheduled association AGM was held on June 17, 2024 virtually via MS Teams.

Thank you to all those who took the time to attend, we did meet quorum and were able to conduct association business.

A copy of the presentation from the AGM can be found here:EGMHA_2023-24_AGM_Presentation_June_17_2024

We would like to congratulate the following annual award winners:

Kenny Clarke Memorial Trophy
Awarded annually to the player who best exemplifies Kenny’s qualities: desire, dedication, honesty, determination and unselfish courage.

Briar Barron

Allan Case Memorial Award
Awarded annually to a player from the U13 or U15 Local League, who plays the game with dignity, shows love for the game, commitment to the team, sportsmanship and respect for the officials, for the spirit of the sport, not the winning of the game.

Evan Neuendorf

Allen Albright Memorial Award
Awarded annually to a player from U9 House League who exemplifies the qualities that Allen Albright demonstrated in his play and love for the game: 

H - Hockey Skills Improvement

E - Enthusiasm for practices and games

A - Adheres to rules and fair play

R - Respect towards team and game officials

T - Team Spirit with demonstrated support towards others less skilled

Aiden Noordhuis 

Coach of the Year Awards
House League – Jeff Weiss

Local League – Glenn McLellan

Volunteer Spirit Award

Awarded annually to those, through their earnest contribution to community hockey, have made their presence felt. 


Chris Johnstone


Official Awards

Referee of the Year - Ryan Dupuis

Most Promising Official - Lucas Senay

Most Dedicated Official - Luke Lawlor

By-Law Amendments

A discussion was held with membership regarding adding an item in the operational policy to post EGMHA Executive Meeting minutes on our website. This was passed and will be added on a go-forward basis to our EGMHA Library which can be found on our website.

The new EGMHA General Operating By-Laws as per the Ontario Non-Profit Corporation Legislation was passed. The set of new By-Laws can be found here: EGMHA_General_Operating_By-Law_June_2024

EGMHA Operating Policy
With the adopting of the new EGMHA General Operating By-Law to conform with the new Ontario Not for Profit Corporations Act (ONCA) we have incorporated items that were in the previous Constitution and By-Laws into a new Operating Policy document which is now in effect.


The new Operating Policy gives the EGMHA Executive detailed guidelines to conduct the daily operations of the association and to best serve the interest of our members. It does not contradict nor circumvent the proposed EGMHA General Operating By-Law


The Executive will have the right to modify the Operating Policy as needed, with a majority vote of the Executive members.


The Operating Policy can be found here: EGMHA_Operating_Policy_June_2024

Elections were held for EGMHA Director Positions. The following slate was approved: 

Executive Positions for Election (two year term) 
Direction of Operations – Jennifer Mackey

Secretary – Stephen Thiele

Director of Player and Coach Development – Brad Russell

Director of Local League – Sherri Annis

Director of Communications – Melodie Howard

Positions not elected last night but entering into second year of term
President – Rick McGlone

Treasurer – Andrew Anderson
Director of Rep – Jeff Mackey
Director of Sponsorship and Fundraising – Liz Cripps

We are still looking for volunteers to fill the following roles:
Director of House League (One Year Term)
Director of Equipment (One Year Term)

Director of Events (Two year Term)

If you are interested in or to learn more about these positions please contact President, Rick McGlone ([email protected]) or Office Administrator, Stacey Barron ([email protected]

A special thank you to out-going Director of Operations, Ed Vetere for your years of service to EGMHA. 


The meeting was adjourned at 9:49 pm.